top of page

CHRIST-ROI SCHOOL

Client: CSDM

Montreal, QC. Canada

2020

2014 m2 /  21679 ft2

 

Architects:

SmithVigeant

in consortium with BGLA

ENLARGEMENT

Carried out in consortium with Smith Vigeant Architects , the project consists of the expansion of the Christ-Roi elementary school of the CSSDM , in the Borough of Ahuntsic-Cartierville . The school was extended over three floors, including, in particular, nine classrooms, a kindergarten, a daycare service and a gymnasium. The project called for creative solutions to successfully integrate both architectural and urban.

 

Creating a harmonious whole, the extension takes the principles of the existing building and redefines the relationship of the school with its context. On the street, a sculpted massing announces the new hall, as well as the social and active functions. On the courtyard side, transparency and color are expressed more, offering a personalized character to the institution, in respect of its initial pavilion. The bright colors of the facade blend with the original brick while revealing it.

The two buildings are structured around a vast central staircase bathed in natural light and the radiance of colors. The staircase clearly ensures the new links with the existing school while providing a comfortable and fun socialization space. The entrance hall, by its size and opening, creates a generous and friendly transition space between the neighborhood, the daycare service and the schoolyard.

 

The color ensures a warm presence of the institution in the public space, harmonizes the old and the new while stimulating learning and sharing spaces.

2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-3035-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-2973-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-3087-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-3132-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1429-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1042-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1396-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-840-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-916-Edit
2020-08-26_École Christ-Roi-478-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1309-Edit
IMG_0176
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-2929-Edit
|
bottom of page

ÉCOLE CHRIST-ROI

Client: La CSDM

Montréal, QC. Canada

 En construction

2014 m2 /  21679 pi2

 

Architectes:

SmithVigeant

en consortium avec BGLA

AGRANDISSEMENT

Réalisé en consortium avec Smith Vigeant Architectes, le projet consiste en l'agrandissement de l'école primaire Christ-Roi du CSSDM, dans l'Arrondissement d'Ahuntsic-Cartierville. L’école a été agrandie sur trois étages, incluant, notamment, neuf classes, une maternelle, un service de garde et un gymnase. Le projet appelait des solutions créatives pour réussir son intégration tant architecturale qu’urbaine.

 

Créant un ensemble harmonieux, l’agrandissement reprend les principes du bâtiment existant et redéfinit les relations de l'école avec son contexte. Sur la rue, une volumétrie sculptée annonce le nouveau hall, ainsi que les fonctions sociales et actives. Du côté de la cour, la transparence et la couleur s’expriment davantage, offrant un caractère personnalisé à l’institution, en respect de son pavillon initial. Les couleurs vives de la façade se marient avec la brique originelle tout en la révélant.

Les deux bâtiments s’articulent autour d’un vaste escalier central baigné de lumière naturelle et du rayonnement des couleurs. L’escalier assure avec clarté les nouvelles liaisons avec l’école existante tout en offrant un espace de socialisation confortable et ludique.  Le hall d’entrée par ses dimensions et son ouverture crée un espace de transition généreux et convivial entre le quartier, le service de garde et la cour d’école.

 

La couleur assure une présence chaleureuse de l’institution dans l’espace public, harmonise l’ancien et le nouveau tout en stimulant l’apprentissage et les espaces de partage.

2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-3035-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-2973-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-3087-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-3132-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1429-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1042-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1396-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-840-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-916-Edit
2020-08-26_École Christ-Roi-478-Edit
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-1309-Edit
IMG_0176
2020-11-05_École Christ-Roi-2929-Edit
|